State Champs!

Latin Club Wins State Again!
On Friday and Saturday, March 10-11, forty members of the Crown Point Latin Club joined students from fifteen other schools at the 64th Annual Indiana Junior Classical League State Convention at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. In addition to fun activities such as a “That’s Entertainment” talent show and a pizza party, the convention included a variety of competitions at the individual, team, and club levels.

Individually, our students performed extremely well in these events, receiving forty first-place awards and bringing home 188 awards for top five placings! Additionally, one of our students received an Individual Achievement Trophy in Academic Testing (Lukas Denney), one received an Individual Achievement Trophy in Graphic Arts (Maddie Johnson), and two received Individual Achievement Trophies in Creative Arts (Taylen Hovanec and Cameron Rachford). There are only five trophies available in each of those categories! In addition, Casey Akers was also awarded the Elizabeth Love memorial scholarship for his dedication and service to the Indiana Junior Classical League.

In the much-anticipated Certamen competition (a Jeopardy-style quiz game), the Novice and Advanced teams both advanced to the final rounds of their respective levels. In the final competition, the novice team (1st year students) and advanced team (3rd and 4th year students) both returned home with 1st place trophies. By virtue of their state championships, members of the novice and advanced teams have earned automatic spots on the state team competing at the NJCL National Convention this summer; advanced team members included Casey Akers, Claire Dosen, Taylen Hovanec, Cameron Rachford, Taylor Richards, and Skyler Sheck; Novice team members were Joseph Burke, Madison Culbreth, Ava Dailey, and Lukas Denney.

We had two Crown Point students elected as state officers at this year’s convention! Kayla Apking (sophomore) was elected as the 2016-2017 IJCL 2nd Vice-President. She will be responsible for the state delegation’s participation in the spirit competitions and the state fundraiser at the NJCL National Convention this summer. In addition she will plan Indiana Latin Week next year and run the spirit competitions at the 2018 IJCL State Convention. Maddie Johnson (sophomore) was chosen as the 2016-2017 IJCL Editor. As Editor, she will be responsible for creating and publishing the state newsletter, Veritas et Scientia.

At the club level, Crown Point once again performed extremely well. In addition to winning the overall sweepstakes trophy for large chapters, we earned the 1st place trophy in the publicity contest (entry compiled by Kayla Apking, Praetor). We placed 1st with our local chapter publication, Tempus Canis (edited by Joey Ferkull), 1st in the Helen Wampler Spirit Award (entry compiled by Nick Stockton, Consul), 2nd in Delegate Spirit (led by Stephanie Perez), 4th in Scrapbooks (created by Jessica Bao and Julie Tran), and 5th with our Chapter T-shirt (designed by Aaron Sizemore). We also placed 2nd for the Sharon Gibson Community Service Award, which is based on one of our many service activities that we do throughout the year (entry compiled by Nick Stockton, Consul).

As a result of our high placings in these individual, team, and club events, the Crown Point Latin Club was once again named overall state champion and awarded the sweepstakes trophy. We are extremely proud of all of our students for their dedication and enthusiasm for the study of Latin, and look forward to their competing at next year’s convention!

The next level of competition for these young people will be the National Junior Classical League Convention from July 24-29 at Troy University in Troy, Alabama. For more information on this event, see
-written by Sara Wietbrock

Attached pictures (2):
CPHS Latin Club with 2017 trophies, ribbons, and plaques – CPStateGroup2017.jpg
CPHS Advanced Certamen Team State Champions- CPAdvancedCertamen2017.jpg

Students in attendance: Casey Akers, Kayla Apking, Jessica Bao, Isabella Badzovski, Tabitha Beishuizen, Olivia Bianco, Annie Brigham, Olivia Budzevski, Joe Burke, Nick Christ, Eric Colgan, Madison Culbreth, Ava Dailey, Dugan Dailey, Lukas Denney, Kristina Dimitrov, Claire Dosen, Taylen Hovanec, Maddie Johnson, Lauren Jostes, Emma Maddack, Ana Maksimovich, Donnie Parent, Stephanie Perez, Cameron Rachford, Alex Rettker, Taylor Richards, Jasmin Romero, Emily Ruess, Caroline Sarbieski, Skyler Sheck, Nick Stockton, Julie Tran, Rachel Wadkins, Hannah Walley

Sponsors: Sara Wietbrock, Jeremy Walker, and Ryan Collier

Chaperones: Paula Rachford, Tracy Schwier